Page 1 of 1
Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:35 pm
by PP-Arcade
Hi, i need to create a .exe that will directly boot (instant shelled) a mame game.
I know about placing a .bat or shortcut in the startup folder, but this needs explorer (desktop) also booted, and since i'm completly hidding desktop with instant shell, i need to create a .exe with a script starting 1 mame game.
I already tried converting a working .bat to .exe:
Code: Select all
@echo off
c:
cd Mame
mame.exe missile
The .exe works when launching it on desktop, but when i instant shell this same .exe it wont run..
Hope some-one understand what i mean, and help me out here. (I think it needs a script in AutoIt)
Cheers, PP
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 3:57 pm
by Aeliss
I think it s depend "instant shell" mode. Somes of them just kill explorer.exe somes other are more powerfull.
IDK wich one you are using but if you make ctrl+alt+suppr can you enter "new task" ?
And none file are working with that ? bat and exe ? try directly with mame.exe to test.
You still need window environement because MAME havent ms-dos version since 5/8 years.
Some bat to exe converter are fake, it s just a bat file auto extractable in tempory folder, so in fact if bat are disabled the exe is too.
You can try with an autoit script
Code: Select all
RunWait(@ComSpec & " /C " & "mame.exe missile", "", @SW_HIDE)
with runwait or run depend on what you want.
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:51 pm
by PP-Arcade
Thanx for helping, I compiled the script, instantshelled the new compiled .exe
Same result doesn't work.
When i ctrl+alt+del and start a new task, then browse to the new .exe it does work.
Does the mame.exe need to be in registery? (when i ctrl+alt+del and start new task, then i enter "mame" or "mame.exe" it says cant find it.. when i browse to the exe it does work)
Maybe it needs the full target in the commandline?
Greets, PP
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:30 am
by rash2236
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:09 am
by PP-Arcade
I tried that multirun, it gives me this error: (see attachment)
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:14 pm
by Aeliss
How are you launching the exe in the shell environement (directly with Instant Sheller ?)?
Are you using "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE> SOFTWARE> Microsoft> Windows> CurrentVersion> Run" ?
Or better "CurrentVersion\Winlogon"
When i ctrl+alt+del and start a new task, then browse to the new .exe it does work.
So I think the exe is good, for me it s the lauching method that isn't good. The application haven't logs ?
If you try with notepad it works ?
Do you know "Silentlaunch" ?
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:08 pm
by PP-Arcade
I'm using instantsheller 0.8 (i'm on winxp pro 32bit)
I did find the CurrentVersion>Run folder, but no entry of the exe there.
I could not find CurrentVersion\Winlogon.
I dont know where to look for anny logs.
Notepad works in the shelled situation (ctrl+alt+del > new task > notepad)
When I "ctrl+alt+del > new task > mame" windows says it cant find it. (browsing to it does work)
I dont know Silentlaunch, sorry not that mutch knowledge of these things
PP
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:36 pm
by Aeliss
Oups, forget "winlogon" it s not for startup, mistake.
Try with notepad, but with notepad entered in instant sheller, to see if the application is working.
When I "ctrl+alt+del > new task > mame" windows says it cant find it. (browsing to it does work)
This is normal.
I have find a manual method that can perhpas help you.
http://www.coinopspace.com/forum/topics ... nt-sheller
Re: Boot directly into a Mame game?
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 8:23 pm
by PP-Arcade
Notepad instantshelled works
I tried the manual method, that didn't work (replaced explorer.exe with the compiled autoit exe path, also tried "C:\mame\mame.exe missile" in the registery winlogon)
Non of them seem to work for me..