Boot directly into a Mame game?

Get answers to questions about using mGalaxy.
Post Reply
User avatar
PP-Arcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:19 pm

Hi, i need to create a .exe that will directly boot (instant shelled) a mame game.
I know about placing a .bat or shortcut in the startup folder, but this needs explorer (desktop) also booted, and since i'm completly hidding desktop with instant shell, i need to create a .exe with a script starting 1 mame game.

I already tried converting a working .bat to .exe:

Code: Select all

@echo off
c:
cd Mame
mame.exe missile
The .exe works when launching it on desktop, but when i instant shell this same .exe it wont run..

Hope some-one understand what i mean, and help me out here. (I think it needs a script in AutoIt)

Cheers, PP  ??? :D
Aeliss
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:55 pm

I think it s depend "instant shell" mode. Somes of them just kill explorer.exe somes other are more powerfull.

IDK wich one you are using but if you make ctrl+alt+suppr can you enter "new task" ?

And none file are working with that ? bat and  exe ? try directly with mame.exe to test.

You still need window environement because MAME havent ms-dos version since 5/8 years.

Some bat to exe converter are fake, it s just a bat file auto extractable in tempory folder, so in fact if bat are disabled the exe is too.

You can try with an autoit script

Code: Select all

RunWait(@ComSpec & " /C " & "mame.exe missile", "", @SW_HIDE)
with runwait or run depend on what you want.
Last edited by Aeliss on Mon Jul 28, 2014 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
PP-Arcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:19 pm

Thanx for helping, I compiled the script, instantshelled the new compiled .exe
Same result doesn't work.
When i ctrl+alt+del and start a new task, then browse to the new .exe it does work.

Does the mame.exe need to be in registery? (when i ctrl+alt+del and start new task, then i enter "mame" or "mame.exe" it says cant find it.. when i browse to the exe it does work)

Maybe it needs the full target in the commandline?

Greets, PP
User avatar
PP-Arcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:19 pm

I tried that multirun, it gives me this error: (see attachment)
Aeliss
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:55 pm

How are you launching the exe in the shell environement (directly with Instant Sheller ?)?

Are you using "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE> SOFTWARE> Microsoft> Windows> CurrentVersion> Run" ?
Or better "CurrentVersion\Winlogon"
When i ctrl+alt+del and start a new task, then browse to the new .exe it does work.
So I think the exe is good, for me it s the lauching method that isn't good. The application haven't logs ?
If you try with notepad it works ?

Do you know "Silentlaunch" ?
Last edited by Aeliss on Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
PP-Arcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:19 pm

I'm using instantsheller 0.8 (i'm on winxp pro 32bit)

I did find the CurrentVersion>Run folder, but no entry of the exe there.
I could not find CurrentVersion\Winlogon.

I dont know where to look for anny logs.

Notepad works in the shelled situation (ctrl+alt+del > new task > notepad)

When I "ctrl+alt+del > new task > mame"  windows says it cant find it. (browsing to it does work)

I dont know Silentlaunch, sorry not that mutch knowledge of these things  ;D

PP  8)
Last edited by PP-Arcade on Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aeliss
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:55 pm

Oups, forget "winlogon" it s not for startup, mistake.

Try with notepad, but with notepad entered in instant sheller, to see if the application is working.
When I "ctrl+alt+del > new task > mame"  windows says it cant find it. (browsing to it does work)
This is normal.

I have find a manual method that can perhpas help you.
http://www.coinopspace.com/forum/topics ... nt-sheller
User avatar
PP-Arcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:19 pm

Notepad instantshelled works
I tried the manual method, that didn't work (replaced explorer.exe with the compiled autoit exe path, also tried "C:\mame\mame.exe missile" in the registery winlogon)

Non of them seem to work for me..

???
Post Reply