NeoGeo CD

Post Reply
davhuit
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:06 am

Though most of the games also exist (without loading times) on the NeoGeo AES (cartridge version), some games (probably a dozen) are exclusives to this CD version, like, for example, "Samurai Shodown RPG".

The emulator used is "Nebula" (which also emulate some others systems, like CPS-1-2-3 and such, it's more or less like "Final burn Alpha").

To put in full screen, there is several ways but here's one that worked for me (the other one with the new gui didn't) :

Choose "use old gui" in the configuration menu, which will bring a neorage-like menu, and then, you are in full screen.

For the "ESC" key for exit and for the loading of isos, I used the same "AutoIt" script I used for the PC Engine CD :

Code: Select all

HotKeySet("{ESC}", "Terminate")
    $path = "F:\Jeux PC [Downloads]\Emulation\NeoGeo CD\"
    $app = "nebula.exe"

    If $CmdLine[0] > 0 Then

    RunWait('"C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe" -mount 0,"' & $CmdLine[1] & '"')
        $PID = Run( $path & $app & ' neocd', $path)
        While 1
              Sleep(100)
        WEnd
    EndIf

    Func Terminate()
        While ProcessExists ( $PID )
            ProcessClose ( $PID )
        WEnd
        RunWait('"C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe" -unmount 0')
        Exit 0

    EndFunc
If, like me, your "Deamon Tools Lite" configurated a "scsi" drive, use this version instead :

Code: Select all

HotKeySet("{ESC}", "Terminate")
    $path = "F:\Jeux PC [Downloads]\Emulation\NeoGeo CD\"
    $app = "nebula.exe"

    If $CmdLine[0] > 0 Then

    RunWait('"C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe" -mount scsi, 0,"' & $CmdLine[1] & '"')
        $PID = Run( $path & $app & ' neocd', $path)
        While 1
              Sleep(100)
        WEnd
    EndIf

    Func Terminate()
        While ProcessExists ( $PID )
            ProcessClose ( $PID )
        WEnd
        RunWait('"C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe" -unmount scsi, 0')
        Exit 0

    EndFunc
Here's the configuration for the "systems.xml" file :

Code: Select all

  <System>
    <Name>NeoGeo CD</Name>
    <AppPath />
    <RomPath />
    <SnapPath />
    <VidPath />
    <Emu selected="0">
      <Cmd id="0" name="Nebula (AutoIt)" value=""%path\%file%ext"" />
    </Emu>
    <Ext selected=".cue">
      <Suf value=".cue" />
      <Suf value=".bin" />
      <Suf value=".iso" />
    </Ext>
    <Active>False</Active>
    <Database>False</Database>
  </System>
Change $path, $app and "Deamons Tools Lite" link according to your configuration, is required.

I didn't made an icon because I'm pretty bad at making them :D

I successfully tested the "NeoGeo CD" with that condiguration with a few games in "mGalaxy" :)
Last edited by davhuit on Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
davhuit
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:06 am

I found one game, one I really wanted to play, which wasn't very compatible with this emulator (Samurai Shodown RPG) so here's another emulator (last version of Neoraine), depending of people taste :)

Code: Select all

    <Name>NeoGeo CD</Name>
    <AppPath />
    <RomPath />
    <SnapPath />
    <VidPath />
    <Emu selected="0">
      <Cmd id="0" name="Neoraine (AutoIt)" value=""%path\%file%ext"" />
    </Emu>
    <Ext selected=".cue">
      <Suf value=".cue" />
    </Ext>
    <Active>True</Active>
    <Database>False</Database>
and the "AutoIt" script :

Code: Select all

HotKeySet("{ESC}", "Terminate")

$path = "F:\Jeux PC [Downloads]\Emulation\NeoGeo CD\"
$app = "neoraine32.exe"

If $CmdLine[0] > 0 Then
    $PID = Run( $path & $app & ' -nogui ' & $CmdLineRaw)
    While 1
          Sleep(100)
    WEnd
EndIf
exit 0

Func Terminate()
    While ProcessExists ( $PID )
        ProcessClose ( $PID )
    WEnd
    Exit 0
EndFunc
(Just change the value of the $path and eventually $app variables at lines 2 & 3)

Isos have to be put in the root directory with this script (but that's not really a problem). I tried to run them from another directory (even without the script, directly with the emulator command-line but it produce an error).

I also noticed that the .bin/.cue format wasn't accepted for some games, dunno why. "League Bowling" works fine with .bin/.cue but "Samurai Shodown RPG" don't, it only work with .cue/.wav

It's probably the only really interesting game anyway, especially because it has been translated from japanese to french a while ago (http://traf.romhack.org/index.php?p=patchs&pid=941)
Last edited by davhuit on Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Aeliss
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:55 pm

:D
Haa, a traduction ? You have capture my interest ^^, my japanese isn't perfect enought for theses game ^^.
Aeliss
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:55 pm

I have some question, why you don't use only neoraine ? Nebula have an avantage ? If I remeber this emulator have problem with "raster effects" but IDK if it s still the case.

On my computer neoraine don't need autoit script scipt. It s because your special configuration, or I don't have same configuration than you ?

Effectively I have same problem than you with .cue file, I need to load with .iso but I still have sound, and generaly It s the problem when we don't load with .cue.
Last edited by Aeliss on Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
davhuit
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:06 am

I only use Neoraine. First I tested Nebula but as I said, it have some problems with Samurai Shodown RPG but I still posted the info, if some people prefer Nebula.

About the "AutoIt" script, it was to pass the "no-gui" argument to the emulator, but it might probably be done directly in the "systems.xml" file (I checked and the "ESC" key thing is useless if you use the "no-gui" argument as it directly quit with the "ESC" key by default), but if you now how to put it directly in the xml file, feel free to post it :)

Personally, it worked with the .cue but for this game, only .wav+.cue works, the game probably use something different in the iso (I tested "League Bowling" and it works fine with .bin+.cue).
Aeliss
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:55 pm

Same here too much problems with nebula. Sound problem, command problem, rom problem, forced to use daemon tool ....

Code: Select all

  <System>
    <Name>NeoGeo CD</Name>
    <AppPath>F:\emulateur\neo geo\NEo Geo CD\raine\raine32.exe</AppPath>
    <RomPath>F:\emulateur\neo geo\NEo Geo CD\rom</RomPath>
    <SnapPath />
    <VidPath />
    <Emu selected="0">
      <Cmd id="0" name="Neo Raine" value="-nogui "%path\%file%ext"" />
    </Emu>
    <Ext selected=".iso">
      <Suf value=".cue" />
      <Suf value=".iso" />
      <Suf value=".zip" />
    </Ext>
    <Active>True</Active>
    <Script>True</Script>
    <Database>False</Database>
  </System>
But the extensions problems is really strange ? I can't modify ISO, perhaps a mistake in cue file ? Bad roms ? I have often a message for bad checksum even the game working on neo raine (but not sure it was for neo geo cd)
Last edited by Aeliss on Sun Sep 01, 2013 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
davhuit
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:06 am

Thanks.

I dunno, I just use it for the NeoGeo CD and I use the last Neoraine (before it merged with Raine), dunno if it change something.
Post Reply