Launching a stand-alone EXE

Get answers to questions about using mGalaxy.
Post Reply
bikeguychicago
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 12:03 am

I would like to be able to launch a stand-alone EXE from mGalaxy (Fix it Felix Jr.). I tried using the the Microsoft option and provided a direct link to the EXE file with mGalaxy reporting that configuration was invalid. How would I go about launching individual EXEs from the launcher? Also, would it be possible to provide videos of the game in-progress as can be done with MAME?

Thanks!
Aeliss
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:55 pm

For stand alone it s a little bit more complicated.
Windows

Use 'cmd.exe' (or a copy of it) as 'emulator' (it is located in Windows > system32)
Your 'roms' will be the shortcuts to your applications/games.
(Right click your '.exe' app/game and select 'Create Shortcut'. Then move it in the folder you specified in Galaxy Runway as being the 'Microsoft Roms' folder)
Eg for me, I create a folder called "Taito X" and have put inside all the *.lnk file.
Application > cmd.exe (a copy)
rom folder > the folder called "Taito X"
ThriakisArcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:46 am

Hello ! Sorry for digging up that old post ; But after search and some test, I can't find the answer.
I'm trying to launch Some stand alone games ( DragonsLair 1 & 2 and Space Ace ; all REMASTERED Version)
but mGalaxy keeps in the front while the game is running behind.
I've selected cmd.exe as emulator exe ; and as roms path a file with shortcuts.
I see there's some SCRIPT things to do, but I'm really a noobie rookie on that ...
:) thanks
User avatar
mgalaxy
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:46 pm

I will work tomorrow on a script to force launch window application to the foreground and will ask you to test the script if you don't mind !?
ThriakisArcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:46 am

Thank you ! With pleasure !
User avatar
mgalaxy
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:46 pm

Here we are! Could you please follow those steps to run the test ?:

1. Place the attached 'Application shortcut [Script].au3' fle inside mGalaxy > Data > Scripts folder

2. With a text editor, open mGalaxy > Data > UserSystems > UserSystems.xml  file
    Locate this block of code:

Code: Select all

<Emu selected="Application shortcut">
    <Cmd hidden="false" name="Application shortcut" value="/C "%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".lnk" />
</Emu>
  and edit it this way (actually, just adding a space and [Script]" to the names):

Code: Select all

<Emu selected="Application shortcut [Script]">
  <Cmd hidden="false" name="Application shortcut [Script]" value="/C "%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".lnk" />
</Emu>
  think to save!

3. Run mGalaxy! Is it working as it should now?
    If yes, you're done! :)



    If not, with a text editor, open mGalaxy > Data > Scripts > Application shortcut [Script].au3 file
    Locate this block of code:

Code: Select all

;Make it foreground
WinActivate($hWnd)
WinSetState($hWnd, "", @SW_MAXIMIZE)
;WinSetOnTop($hWnd, "", 1) 
  ...and remove the semicolon in front of WinSetState($hWnd, "", @SW_MAXIMIZE)
  you should end up with a block like this:
 

Code: Select all

;Make it foreground
WinActivate($hWnd)
WinSetState($hWnd, "", @SW_MAXIMIZE)
WinSetOnTop($hWnd, "", 1) 

    think to save

    Run mGalaxy!

I'm waiting for your report ;)
Last edited by mgalaxy on Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
ThriakisArcade
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:46 am

:D Thanks ! It works Perfect with the first method !
Everything seems to be good ! Yeepee ! ^^
Post Reply