Page 1 of 1

Launching bat files

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:37 pm
by fumanchujr
Hello,

I launch a lot of games with different emulators using bat files.
Is it possible to make a list of this bat files grouping them as a system, and launch them using mgalaxy?

Thanks for your help

Re: Launching bat files

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:59 pm
by jmd
Not sure...but just try this:
- Open "mGalaxy v7.5\Data\BaseSystems\BaseSystems.xml" file with a text editor.
- Find this group of lines:
<System type="Computer">
<Name ss="" em="Microsoft_Windows" tgdb="PC" gb="94|PC">Microsoft [Applications]</Name>
<Emu selected="Application shortcut">
<Cmd hidden="false" name="Application shortcut" value="/C "%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".lnk"/>
<Cmd hidden="false" name="Application shortcut (force foreground) [Script]" value="/C "%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".lnk"/>
</Emu>
</System>

and add a new line that way:
<System type="Computer">
<Name ss="" em="Microsoft_Windows" tgdb="PC" gb="94|PC">Microsoft [Applications]</Name>
<Emu selected="Application shortcut">
<Cmd hidden="false" name="Application shortcut" value="/C "%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".lnk"/>
<Cmd hidden="false" name="Application shortcut (force foreground) [Script]" value="/C "%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".lnk"/>
<Cmd hidden="false" name="Bat files" value=""%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".bat"/>
</Emu>
</System>

- Save the file
- Open mGalaxy Runway and add a new "Microsoft [Applications]" system
- You should now find "Bat files" in the dropdown (to the left of the "Enable" checkbox)
- Set the Executable path to cmd.exe (C:\WINDOWS\system32)
- Set the rom folder to the folder containing all your .bat files
- Save, test..and report ;)

PS: the line to add could be (as posted):
<Cmd hidden="false" name="Bat files" value=""%path\%file%ext"" extensions=".bat"/>
(the """ code being actually the double quote sign that will surround the "path/file.ext" line...to tell you everything)
OR
<Cmd hidden="false" name="Bat files" value="%path\%file%ext" extensions=".bat"/>

Re: Launching bat files

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 8:20 pm
by fumanchujr
Thanks for your detailed answer.

It didn't work, maybe there is another way.

It didn't work with the bat files, but, I can create a shortcut for the bat file, and if I choose it in the dropdown, it works!

So thanks again, without your answer I wouldn't have figured it out.