Open MSX

Get answers to questions about using mGalaxy.
Post Reply
animator75
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:43 am

Hi!

I was wondering if there is a way to use OpenMSX instead BlueMSX or MESS for msx emulation? The reason is that I have a cab with avertical monitor and BlueMSX stretches the screen giving me the wrong pixel aspect ratio, even though I have not ticked vertical stretch. Also OpenMSX has very nice monitor emulation filters. So I definitely prefer OpenMSX over BlueMSX for this cab.

Thanks!
Last edited by animator75 on Fri Nov 27, 2015 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mgalaxy
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:46 pm

Hi animator75,

Please follow these steps (tell me then if it's working correctly so that I can add this emulator to the MSX systems!)

- In the mGalaxy folder > Data > open 'systems.xml'
- Locate this code block :

Code: Select all

<System Type="Computer">
	<Name>MSX</Name>
	<AppPath/>
	<RomPath/>
	<SnapPath/>
	<VidPath/>
	<Emu selected="0">
		<Cmd id="0" name="blueMSX" value="/fullscreen /machine "msx2" /rom1 "%path\%file%ext""/>
		<Cmd id="1" name="MESS" value="msx2 -rom "%path\%file%ext" -volume -%volume(32,0) -skip_gameinfo -nowindow"/>
	</Emu>
	<Extensions>.zip</Extensions>
	<Active>False</Active>
	<Script>True</Script>
	<Database>False</Database>
</System>
- Add this line to the '<Emu>' tag:

Code: Select all

<Cmd id="2" name="OpenMSX" value=""%path\%file%ext""/>
- You should end with this:

Code: Select all

<System Type="Computer">
	<Name>MSX</Name>
	<AppPath/>
	<RomPath/>
	<SnapPath/>
	<VidPath/>
	<Emu selected="0">
		<Cmd id="0" name="blueMSX" value="/fullscreen /machine "msx2" /rom1 "%path\%file%ext""/>
		<Cmd id="1" name="MESS" value="msx2 -rom "%path\%file%ext" -volume -%volume(32,0) -skip_gameinfo -nowindow"/>
		<Cmd id="2" name="OpenMSX" value=""%path\%file%ext""/>
	</Emu>
	<Extensions>.zip</Extensions>
	<Active>False</Active>
	<Script>True</Script>
	<Database>False</Database>
</System>
- Finally, put the script attached to this message into the 'openmsx' application folder

- Run mGalaxy_Runway, select your new 'OpenMSX' emulator in the drop-down list and MAKE SURE that 'Use script if available' is checked
- Save and quit

- Launch mGalaxy and it should work!!
animator75
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:43 am

Thanks! I will try it as soon as my windows upgrading process on my arcade is finished. :)
animator75
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:43 am

Works like a charm! Thank you! :D Would it be possible to have two separate MSX items in the frontend one MSX and one MSX2, I now have a merged msx and msx2 rom folder and play everything using a MSX2 machine, that works. but having them separated would be very nice. Again thank you! I really appreciate the quick support and I made a small donation..
Regards
/Tobias
User avatar
mgalaxy
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:46 pm

Please have a look here:
http://www.mgalaxy.com/forum/index.php? ... 08#msg3008

To summarize, in the next mGalaxy version you'll be able to add as many (identical or not) system as you want and your preferred MSX emulator will be added!

Thanks for your support, we really appreciate it!!
Last edited by mgalaxy on Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
animator75
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:43 am

Fantastic! :D
Post Reply